(Willmar MN-) Former Willmar City Council Member and Mayor Les Heitke has filed to run for Willmar City Council.   Heitke filed at Willmar City Hall Tuesday to run for the 1st Ward seat being vacated by Council Member Kathy Schwantes, who has announced she is not running for reelection.   The filing deadline was 5 p.m. Tuesday afternoon.  
Heitke was first elected to the Willmar City Council in 1988, and elected mayor in 1994.  He was defeated by Frank Yanish in November 2010.
Several other people filed Tuesday for Willmar City Council...Mike O'Brien and Steven Dresler also filed for Ward 1, making for a 3-way race with Heitke, and in Ward 4, Tom Butterfield and Hans Hibma filed to run for the seat being vacated by Shawn Mueske, who is not running for reelection. 
In Ward 2 it appears Julie Asmus will be running for reelection unapposed.
In Ward 3, Justin Ask will be running against Zeke Dahl.   The incumbent, Fernando Alvarado, is not running for reelect and is challenging Andrew Lang in Senate District 17. 
On the Kandiyohi County Board side, in District 2, former Willmar City Council Members Steve Ahmann and Steve Gardner will face off against each other.   Roger Imdieke is running in District 4 unapposed, and in District 5, it's a three person race...incumbent Harlan Madsen is being challenged by John Cunningham and Duane Anderson.   
There will be a primary August 11th reducing the field of candidates in Willmar Ward 1 and Kandiyohi County District 5 from 3 to 2.